“This isn’t good or bad. It’s just the way of things. Nothing stays the same.”
Real Live Preacher, RealLivePreacher.com Weblog, January 03, 2004

I’ve never been good at handling change. I like comfort and predictability and when something disrupts that I have a hard time adjusting.

When I brought Lucas home from the hospital I remember feeling like I would never get used to my new normal but of course I did. After a while everything became routine and it felt right, but that wouldn’t be the last time I felt like everything was changing too fast.

I found out that Lucas will be moving to Kindergarten at the start of the summer session. I knew he was doing well in school, he knows the alphabet, colors, shapes, some numbers, and he’s been recognizing 3 and 5 letter words. I felt like he was getting ready to move one, but I prepared myself to hear that he needed another year of preschool. I couldn’t help but tear up a little and of course feel a little apprehensive.

I know it will be okay. He’s ready, and holding him back does him no favors. He’ll start the summer session on June 18 as a Kindergarten man and he’ll do great, it just may take me until September to adjust to the idea.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About beckeyh

I am a "SAH" mom of 2 wild and crazy boys.

Leave a Reply

